Le Centre de justice demande à participer à l'enquête sur la Loi sur les mesures d'urgence

ONTARIO : Le Centre de justice a soumis une application d'avoir qualité pour participer à l'enquête en cours sur la déclaration du Loi sur les urgences par le gouvernement fédéral en réponse au convoi de camionneurs et à la manifestation de février à Ottawa et aux blocages à divers passages frontaliers à travers le Canada. Si la demande aboutit, le Centre de justice aura certains droits de participation à l'enquête, qui peuvent inclure un siège à la table des avocats, la possibilité de présenter des preuves, des arguments factuels et juridiques, de soumettre des documents de politique, de suggérer et de contre-interroger des témoins, et/ ou participer aux délibérations.

Le 14 février 2022, le gouvernement du Canada a déclaré une urgence à l'ordre public en vertu de la Loi sur les urgences, qui était en vigueur jusqu'au 23 février 2022. Le Loi sur les urgences exige qu'une enquête sur la déclaration d'urgence soit ouverte dans les 60 jours. Le 25 avril 2022, par Décret en conseil, le gouvernement du Canada a créé une commission, la Commission d'urgence sur l'ordre public, qui mènera l'enquête obligatoire.

La Commission examinera les circonstances qui ont conduit à la mise en œuvre de la Loi sur les urgences et les mesures prises en réponse à l'urgence. Cela inclut l'évolution du convoi, l'impact du financement et de la désinformation, l'impact économique et les efforts de la police et des autres intervenants avant et après la déclaration.

Dans le cas d'une « urgence d'ordre public », c'est ainsi que la déclaration a été formulée, il y a une exigence selon laquelle l'urgence doit constituer une « menace à la sécurité du Canada » qui comprend « des actes de violence grave contre des personnes ou des biens pour dans le but d'atteindre un objectif politique, religieux ou idéologique au Canada.

Le Centre de justice possède une vaste expérience en matière constitutionnelle, avec plus d'une décennie d'expérience et un bilan de défense franche de Notre Charte droits et libertés. En plus de notre expérience directe sur le terrain lors des manifestations à Ottawa, le Centre de justice est particulièrement bien placé pour contribuer à l'enquête et aider la Commission dans son travail d'une importance cruciale.

La Commission rendra ses décisions sur les demandes de participation permanente le 27 juin 2022.

Justice Centre applies to participate in Emergencies Act Inquiry

Share this:

Justice Centre applies to participate in Emergencies Act Inquiry

Share this:

ONTARIO: The Justice Centre has submitted an application for participatory standing at the inquiry being held into the declaration of the Emergencies Act by the federal government in response to the February trucker convoy and protest in Ottawa and blockades at various border crossings across Canada. If the application succeeds, the Justice Centre will have certain participatory rights at the inquiry, which may include a seat at counsel table, the opportunity to make evidentiary, factual and legal submissions, submit policy papers, suggest and cross-examine witnesses, and/or participate in deliberations.

On February 14, 2022, the Government of Canada declared a public order emergency under the Emergencies Act, which was in effect until February 23, 2022. The Emergencies Act requires that an inquiry into the declaration of emergency be started within 60 days. On April 25, 2022, by Order-in-Council, the Government of Canada created a commission, the Public Order Emergency Commission, which will conduct the mandatory inquiry.

The Commission will examine the circumstances that led to the implementation of the Emergencies Act and the measures taken in response to the emergency. This includes the evolution of the convoy, the impact of funding and disinformation, the economic impact, and efforts of police and other responders prior to and after the declaration.

In the case of a “public order emergency,” which is how the declaration was framed, there is a requirement that the emergency must amount to a “threat to the security of Canada” which includes “acts of serious violence against persons or property for the purpose of achieving a political, religious or ideological objective within Canada.”

The Justice Centre has extensive experience in constitutional matters, with over a decade of experience and a track record for outspoken defence of Charter rights and freedoms. In addition to our firsthand experience on the ground at the protests in Ottawa, the Justice Centre is uniquely positioned to contribute to the Inquiry and assist the Commission in its critically important work.

The Commission will issue its decisions on participatory standing applications on June 27, 2022.

Share this:

Powell River Public Library receives legal warning not to cancel public event

CHILLIWACK, BC: The Justice Centre for Constitutional Freedoms announces that a legal warning letter was sent on June 13, 2024, to the Chief...

Fraser Valley churches challenge Dr. Bonnie Henry as dishonest and discriminatory in court

CHILLIWACK, BC: The Justice Centre for Constitutional Freedoms announces that Fraser Valley churches are arguing, in a 10-day hearing in Chilliwack, BC,...

Today, court hears misconduct complaint against judge who imposed Covid vaccine mandate

HALIFAX, NS: The Justice Centre for Constitutional Freedoms announces that the hearing for Judge Rickcola Brinton's challenge to the dismissal of her...

Explore Related News

660f5c99-dd86-fd54-9f5a-890ff80f7bac
Read More
Bonnie_Henry_July_2020
Read More
Wiki Commons: Supreme Court of Nova Scotia
Read More
660f5c99-dd86-fd54-9f5a-890ff80f7bac
Bonnie_Henry_July_2020
Wiki Commons: Supreme Court of Nova Scotia
Lockdown Protesters
Explore Further